News Archive

A paper titled “Teaching testing with modern technology stacks in undergraduate software engineering courses” by Scott Chow, Tanay Komarlu and Prof. Phillip Conrad was awarded Honorable Mention for Best Paper at ITiCSE’21, the 26th Annual Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education.

The Computer Science Department would like to officially welcome Lei Li to UCSB! He will be an Assistant Professor in the CS Department. 

A paper titled “Optimal Dynamic Regret in Exp-Concave Online Learning” written by Assistant Professor Yu-Xiang Wang and PhD candidate Dheeraj Baby was selected as one of two best student papers at COLT 2021. The Conference on Learning Theory is widely regarded as the top conference for machine learning theory.

In the paper, the researchers show that the natural relationship between modern decision tree algorithms, new advances in race logic, and the underlying sensors themselves provides new opportunities for extremely efficient classification.

Prof. Xifeng Yan & Assistant Prof. William Wang are leading the UC Santa Barbara team that was selected to participate in the Alexa Prize TaskBot Challenge. Only ten teams out of 125 applicant teams were selected to compete in this unique artificial intelligence competition. 

George Tzimpragos, a fifth year Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of Computer Science at UC Santa Barbara, co-authored an article titled “Temporal Computing With Superconductors” which was featured in the “Top Picks From the 2020 Computer Architecture Conferences” edition of IEEE Journals & Magazine.

The 2021 CS Summit event was hosted virtually by UCSB’s Department of Computer Science on Friday, March 12, 2021.
Mark Abel has recently been recognized as the inaugural Distinguished Computer Science Affiliate.
Wenhu Chen is a fourth-year Ph.D. student at the University of California, Santa Barbara, advised by William Yang Wang and Xifeng Yan. Chen received a competitive “Best Student Paper Award - Honorable Mention” from WACV 2021.
Professor Yufei Ding was featured in The UCSB Current "A Quantum Leap"
UC Santa Barbara’s College of Engineering has welcomed seven new facultythroughout the 2020-21 academic year, including Zoë Wood, who has joined theComputer Science Department as a lecturer and teaching professor.
2020 Rising Star, Deeksha Dangwal Story by Andrew Masuda, edited by Natalia Diaz AmabilisFor the original story go here.  Three UC Santa Barbara scientists are among the one hundred fifty women nationwidewho have been invited to the 2020 Rising Stars in Electrical Engineering and ComputerScience (EECS) Workshop. Esmat Farzana, a postdoctoral researcher in the Materials
University of California, Santa Barbara’s Professor Sharon Tettegah and Professor Tim Sherwood have been awarded Google’s Award for Inclusion Research.
Congratulations to Vivek Adarsh from the MOMENT lab for winning Best in Class for his project “SARAS: Intelligent Edge Acceleration Using SmartNICs” at the 2020 HPE Virtual Intern Project Fair!
Verizon has announced its partnership with the University of California, Santa Barbara, which aims to test the use of AI and machine learning to develop improved security around the flow of information and how it is interpreted and used.
Yu-Xiang Wang has received a new NSF Award to support his research in “Optimal and Adaptive Reinforcement Learning with Offline Data and Limited Adaptivity”.
UCSB’s Assistant Professor Yu Feng received the ACM Special Interest Group On Software Engineering (SIGSOFT) Distinguished Paper Award at the 35th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Automated Software Engineering (ASE'20).
UCSB Alumni Antonio Bianchi and his team at Purdue University have receives a grant from DARPA to aid a project called “Assured Micropatching.”
Saiph Savage, a UCSB Alumna, has been named as one of the 2020 keynote speakers at The Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation’s (NeurIPS) annual conference.
CS Ph.D students, Vaishali Surianarayanan & Peter Gartland, have papers accepted to FOCS2020, one of the two premier conferences in theory of computer science.
The UCSB team, led by computer science professors Arpit Gupta, Elizabeth Belding, and Yu-Xiang Wang, will be developing a wireless network management system that leverages reinforcement learning to optimize the quality of experience (QoE) for end-users.
Professor William Wang appointed as Mellichamp Chair in Artificial Intelligence & Designs. 
On Friday, June 12th, the Department of Computer Science held its 3rd Annual End of Year Awards & Graduate Celebration virtually.
Prof. William Wang received JPMorgan Chase Faculty Research Award for his proposal, " Combining Knowledge Base and Unstructured Text for Open-Domain Financial Question Answering" 
Prof Rich Wolski co-authored the article "Doing Data Science on the Shoulders of Giants: The Value of Open Source Software for the Data Science Community" was published by Harvard Data Science Review. 
A former PhD student of Prof Tevfik Bultan, Tuba Yavuz, has received the NSF CAREER award for her proposal titled: "Towards a Secure and Reliable Internet of Things through Automated Model Extraction and Analysis" 
Natural Reserve System features Prof. Krintz & Wolski describing how their project was born...
STARTUP SPOTLIGHT: Read this article if you want to learn about an innovative startup concerned with computer and network security!
Congratulations to Samantha Oglesby for being a recipient of the Staff Citation of Excellence Award! This award acknowledges and celebrates outstanding achievements and meritorious service.
 Congratulations to UCSB’s Professor Richert Wang for being awarded the Faculty Career Development Award (FCDA), which provides eligible junior faculty the opportunity to strengthen their records in research and other creative activity by providing funds to enable them to spend uninterrupted time pursuing research interests or independent study.
Congratulations to Ethan Epperly, a fourth year undergraduate  student at UCSB for being recently selected for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)!
Congratulations to Diba Mirza on being awarded The Distinguished Teaching Award!
Congratulations to Lia Yeh, an undergraduate Computer Science student at UCSB for being recently selected for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)!
Congratulations to Yunkai Zhang, a fourth year undergraduate  student at UCSB for being recently selected for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)!
Maiyya has recently been selected for the 2020 Google Fellowship in Structured Data and Database Management as well as the 2020 IBM Fellowship for demonstrating excellence and innovative research proposals.
Congratulations to Colin Unger, an undergraduate Computer Science student at UCSB for being recently selected for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)!
This year’s summit.cs was hosted on March 11, 2020 at UC Santa Barbara.
 The Augmented Humans (AHs) International Conference celebrates and “emphasizes the move towards technologies that enhance human capabilities beyond the individual and will have the potential for impact on societal scale."
CS Student Advising will suspend in-person advising effective Tuesday March 17 until further notice.
He does it again! Professor William Wang receives the Google Faculty Research Award for 2019 - 2020 - a program focus on supporting world-class technician research in fields such as CS.