Oscar H. Ibarra
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
M.S., Electrical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
B.S., Electrical Engineering, University of the Philippines
Fellow, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, 1984 - 1985
Fellow, Minnesota Supercomputer Institute, September 1987 -
Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), January 1992 -
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), September 1993 -
Outstanding UCSB Computer Science Professor, 1993
Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), March 1995 -
First ITL Infosys Distinguished Speaker Award, 1996
2001 IEEE Computer Society's Harry H. Goode Memorial Award, 2001
"Award of Distinction" for outstanding contributions to computer science, presented by the Computing Society of the Philippines during the International Symposium on Parallel Architectures, Algorithms, and Networks (ISPAN'02), Manila, May 2002
Philippine-American Academy of Science and Engineering Founder's Lectureship Award in Engineering, presented at the academy's 21st annual meeting and symposium, Solomons Island, Maryland, August 2002
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Invitation Fellowship for Research, Fall 2002
Computer Science: From Theory to Practice, a workshop on the occasion of Oscar H. Ibarra's 60th birthday, August 2002, Singapore
University of the Philippines Alumni Association (UPAA) distinguished alumnus award: the 2003 Outstanding Professional in the field of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, June 2003
First P Prize in Membrane Computing, announced during the 2003 Workshop on Membrane Computing, Tarragona, Spain, July 2003
Elected member of the European Academy of Sciences (EAS), 2003
Included in Thomson ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) database of 230 Highly Cited Researchers in Computer Science, 2003
Awarded a Nokia Visiting Fellowship to visit the University of Turku, 2007
Awarded the 2007 Blaise Pascal Medal in Computer Science from the European Academy of Sciences
Elected Foreign Member of Academia Europaea (Informatics Section), 2008
Awarded a Distinguished Visiting Fellowship from the UK Royal Academy of Engineering, 2008
Named the most prolific author in the 40-year history of the journal Theoretical Computer Science during the 40th anniversary of the journal, 2015
Member of European Academy of Science (EAS)
Foreign Member of Academia Europaea