News Archive

September 13, 2006

September 8, 2006—Ben Zhao, an innovator in the field of
computer networking is included in the annual 2006 TR35 list,
published in new issue of MIT’s Technology Review magazine.
The list features 35 of the top innovators in science and
technology under the age of 35.

August 25, 2006

Workshop on Multiscale Biological Imaging, Data Mining & Informatics
will be held at UCSB, September 7-8 2006.
The workshop brings together interdisciplinary researchers to identify
problems and present answers to multiscale bioimage data mining and
informatics using cutting edge imaging technology (including
fluorescence imaging, electron microscopy imaging, etc.) and
quantitative analysis methods (including image data analysis, computer
vision, data mining, machine learning, as well as other informatics

April 21, 2006

Nokia Visiting Fellow scholarships are granted to distinguished foreign
professors or experts to work in Finland. Professor Ibarra will spend
three months at the University of Turku and work with colleagues in the
areas of discrete and algorithmic mathematics, theory of computation, and
biologically motivated models of computing.

April 21, 2006

Professor Petzold was elected as a Fellow of The American Association for
the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS is an international non-profit
organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving
as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.
Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by
their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance
science or its applications.

April 5, 2006

The paper titled “Profiling over Adaptive Ranges” received the best
paper award at CGO ’06 (4th Annual ACM International Symposium on Code
Generation and Optimization), which was held in New York during March 26-29. The
paper describes a new geometry-based scheme to summarize the huge number of
events processed by a modern computer system. The compact summary, called RAP,
adaptively and dynamically zooms onto event ranges of interest, thus
creating a profile of the program behavior which can then be used for
processor optimization.

March 21, 2006

Frédéric G. Gibou, an assistant professor of computer science
and mechanical engineering is among this year’s 116 national
winners of prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships from the
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. The new Sloan Research Fellows
were selected from among hundreds of highly qualified
scientists in the early stages of their careers on the basis
of their exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement
of knowledge. In the 50 years that the Alfred P. Sloan
Foundation has been awarding research fellowships, 34 former

March 15, 2006

Professor Zheng’s research into cognitive radios and dynamic spectrum
networks has caught the attention of MIT Tech Review, a highly respected
magazine focusing on technology with current circulation around 300,000.
The article by Neil Savage can be found in the current issue of
Technology Review (March/April), or online at their website:

March 15, 2006

Two young faculty members, Chandra Krintz and Ben Zhao, received the
National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) award in
2006. CAREER awards, given to future academic leaders, are the
foundation’s most prestigious grants for young teacher-scholars. The
awards provide support for research in the amount of $400K-$480K for a
five-year period.

March 10, 2006

Graduate Program Assistant Amanda Hoagland received the Citation of
Excellence Award and Computer Systems Manager Richard Kip was honored as
an excellent employee by the UCSB Staff Assembly this year. The purpose
of these awards is to acknowledge and celebrate outstanding achievements
and meritorious service of career staff.

The excellent job performances of Amanda Hoagland and Richard Kip are best
explained by the following quotes from the nomination letters written by
the faculty.

March 7, 2006

UCSB Foundation Trustee Mark Bertelsen and his wife, Susan, have made a major gift to establish an endowed chair in computer science at UC Santa Barbara.
The Bertelsens, both UCSB graduates, have chosen to name the chair in memory of Susan Bertelsen’s father, Eugene Aas. The Eugene Aas Chair in Computer Science will be used to attract and support the research of a leading junior faculty member working in the forefront of the discipline.