News Archive

March 27, 2007

The Department of Computer Science received the Departmental Graduate
Mentorship Award for the 2006-2007 academic year. This award is given by
the UCSB Graduate Council and Graduate Division and the decision is based
on data provided by the Department, results of the Doctoral Exit Survey
and statistics on median time to degree, graduation rates and number of
degrees conferred.

The following is an excerpt from the award citation for the Departmental
Graduate Mentorship Award for Computer Science:

March 27, 2007

Professor Kevin Almeroth received the 2006-2007 UCSB Academic Senate
Distinguished Teaching Award. The purpose of this award is to encourage
and reward excellence in teaching at UCSB. This award is a great addition
to the long list of awards Kevin has already received for his teaching.
Kevin has won the Computer Science Faculty Teaching Award four times
(1998, 1999, 2000, and 2005) and also earned a UCSB Spotlight on Excellent
Award in 2001 for his teaching. Kevin’s outstanding contributions to
teaching at UCSB include:

March 27, 2007

Professor Amr El Abbadi received the 2006-2007 UCSB Academic Senate
Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award. The goal of this award is to encourage
and reward excellence in mentoring graduate students on the Santa Barbara
campus. Amr has been one of the key architects of the impressive growth in
our graduate programs, both in terms of numbers and, perhaps more
importantly, in terms of quality.

Throughout his academic career at UCSB, Amr excelled in every aspect of
graduate mentorship by:

March 26, 2007

On March 21st, 2007, Professor Krintz’s new outreach class on
Information Technology and the Community (CS193) held its awards
ceremony. Thanks to support from Microsoft, three awards were
available for extraordinary mentoring, leadership, and technological
contribution by three undergraduates in the class.

December 4, 2006

Lamia Youseff’s paper, recently presented by Lamia, at the 2006
Workshop on XEN in HIgh-Performance Cluster and Grid Computing, was
selected as one of two papers to receive the best paper award.
Lamia is a PhD student in Prof. Rich Wolski’s MAYEM lab and
investigates cutting edge solutions to using software virtualization
to effectively enable high-performance computing. Lamia’s paper is
called Paravirtualization for HPC Systems and her co-authors are
Prof. Rich Wolski, Brent Gorda (from Lawrence Livermore

December 4, 2006

CS193 is a new course offering implemented by Prof. Chandra Krintz for
Winter Quarter 2007. This class for everyone who can use a computer
that wants to make a difference and have a positive impact on the
lives of others in our community. Prof. Krintz has formed a number of
partnerships with local non-profits and area high-schools to enable
you to help them with their efforts as part of your UCSB educational
process. This class will enable UCSB students (in groups consisting
of students of different backgrounds and expertise levels), to work

November 30, 2006

Team “Bender” (composed of undergrads Bryce Boe, Adam Doupe, and Scott
Bonebrake), took 5th place and some cool cash in the regional programming
contest Saturday Nov 11th. Organized by undergrad Matt Hielscher and
Professor Tim Sherwood, the ACM programming teams keep getting better each
and every year. This year, team bender proved to be a nearly unstoppable
programming machine — able to solve 5 of 7 problems, besting all
the teams from UCSD, UCLA, and many of the other programming contest

November 20, 2006

The CS 172/189A and 189B courses will be restructured this year.
Students enrolled in these courses form teams and develop significant software
projects. The outcome of the first course (172/189A) is a prototype for the
project, and the second course (189B) ends with a presentation day in which
the completed projects are demonstrated publicly. This year, we will establish
partnerships between student project teams and companies which will
provide challenge problems to the students based on the challenges they face

November 13, 2006

Each year, a panel of 30 senior computer architects chooses 10 of the
year’s most significant research publications for publication in a special
issue of IEEE Micro. For the 3rd Year in a row, a paper from UCSB Computer
Science is present: Introspective 3D Chips by Shashi Mysore, Banit
Agrawal, and Sheng-Chih Lin, Navin Srivastava, Kaustav Banerjee, and
Timothy Sherwood from ASPLOS 2006. To deal with the complexity of modern
systems, software developers are increasingly dependent on specialized

September 28, 2006

Prof. Fred Chong , along with Profs. Zhendong Su and Felix Wu (UC Davis),
have been awarded a $750,000 NSF grant on malware defense, titled
“A Vertical Systems Framework for Effective Defense against Memory-based Attacks”.