News Archive

February 8, 2010

In January, 2010, IBM selected Prof. Chandra Krintz to be a recipient of the 2010 IBM X10 Innovation awards. These awards recognize “a select group of academic research and curricular development activities in the area of computing at scale on cloud computing platforms based on the X10 programming language”[1]. The 2010 awardees consist of 18 top academics in the area of programming languages world-wide.

February 3, 2010

Santa Barbara, California, February 2, 2010—A team of UCSB computer
scientists is leading a consortium funded by the US Army Research Office as
a part of its Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI)
Program to investigate ways of monitoring cyber attacks on networks like the
Internet. The cyber security multi-campus collaborative effort is led by
UCSB and also includes UC-Berkeley and Georgia Tech. The total effort will
be funded at approximately $6.2 million.

February 3, 2010

UCSB Computer Science Prof. Wim van Dam describes latest progress in quantum algorithms.

In the February 2010 issue of Communications of the ACM, UC Santa Barbara’s Wim van Dam and Dave Bacon of the University of Washington give an overview of the recent progress in the design of new quantum algorithms. Unlike our current computers, the behavior of a quantum computer cannot be described by classical physics and therefore also require non-classical algorithms.

February 2, 2010

Feature: Oscar H. Ibarra, Computer Scientist Par Excellence

The Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) lists Dr. Oscar H. Ibarra as
one the most highly cited researchers of our time – one of the “top
influential researchers from 21 broad subject categories in life sciences,
medicine, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences who have
contributed to the progress of science through their insight and

December 30, 2009

Professor Teofilo Gonzalez from the Department of Computer Science at the University of California at Santa Barbara was inducted as an IASTED Fellow for his contributions to Multicasting Dissemination Algorithms for Parallel and Distributed Computing, as well as for his decade long commitment to PDCS and IASTED.
Award Link.

December 22, 2009

Each year a committee of industry experts and faculty chooses 10 papers from
the top computer architecture conferences to highlight in the annual “Top
Picks” issue of IEEE Micro. This year UCSB Computer Science students Mohit
Tiwari, Xun Li, Hassan Wassel, Bita Mazloom, and Shashi Mysore along with
their advisors Fred Chong and Tim Sherwood had their work on
Tracking Information Flow at the Gate-Level for Secure Architectures

selected for this prestigious publication.

December 13, 2009

Prof. Tevfik Bultan and M.S. student Zachary Stengel identified a flaw in a novel operating system developed by Microsoft Research called Singularity. Although Singularity operating system has been developed with the goal of improving dependability, due to this flaw, Singularity processes were vulnerable to deadlocks.

December 9, 2009

On December 4th, 2009 the largest hacking competition ever carried out was held at UCSB. The competition included 56 teams from North America, South America, Europe, Russia, India, and Australia.

December 7, 2009

UCSB faculty Matthew Turk, Tobias Höllerer, Chandra Krintz, and Rich Wolski, along with Media Arts and Technology professor JoAnn Kuchera-Morin, have received $1.25M in infrastructure funding from the National Science Foundation to equip the first generation AlloSphere, a large, three-story spherical environment for synthesis, manipulation, exploration and analysis of large-scale data sets, with applications in science, design, art, and entertainment. For more information on the AlloSphere, visit

December 7, 2009

A team of UCSB computer scientists is part of a consortium chosen to establish an Information Networks Academic Research Center (INARC) by the US Army as a part of its Network Science Collaborative Technology Alliance (NS CTA). The information networks multi-campus collaborative effort is led by the University of Illinois, and also includes IBM and City University of New York. The total effort will be funded at about $16.75 million, of which the UCSB team will receive approximately $3.6 million.