News Archive

August 20, 2008

Cyber-criminals regularly steal from each other. This is the conclusion of
the recent UCSB paper “There is No Free Phish: An Analysis of ‘Free’ and
Live Phishing Kits” by Marco Cova, Professor Christopher Kruegel, and
Professor Giovanni Vigna.

June 10, 2008

The capstone project gives Computer Science and Computer Engineering students the opportunity to put their education into practice. Students, working in small teams, design and engineer innovative hardware and software systems using techniques from robotics, distributed systems, circuit design, networking, and real-time systems to tackle problems “donated” from local industry.

June 2, 2008

The Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W) has announced that the recipient of the Prestigous Borg Early Career Award for 2008 is our own Professor Chandra Krintz.

June 2, 2008

Timothy Sherwood, Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science, along with Jeffrey Moehlis, Associate Professor in Mechanical Engineering, have been selected as the co-recipients of this year’s Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award. The award honors junior faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to high teaching standards, reflected in part by feedback from the students, and it is Northrop Grumman’s way of simultaneously recognizing the importance of great teaching as well as the institutions that support it.

May 30, 2008

Following the success of last year’s Senior Capstone projects, Professors Tevfik Bultan and Rich Wolski invited companies to again propose projects to students in UC Santa Barbara’s Computer Engineering and Computer Science programs.

May 1, 2008

Professor Oscar Ibarra was recently elected a Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea in the Informatics Section.

April 21, 2008

The team of Alexander Kuo and Colin Langton won the UCSB Programming Battle, a head to head competition in which UCSB Undergrads program strategies into tiny “bots” over a 5 hour marathon coding session to capture objectives and defeat their opponents. At the end of the 5 hours, the programs play against one another in simulation to discover the wining teams. It was an incredibly close battle this year, with undergrads Bryan Donyanavard and Marc Mendonca tied 1-1 with the eventual champions going into the final round. Special thanks to Ph.D.

April 3, 2008

Two CS staff members were recognized by the university for their outstanding service. Students Affairs Manager Greta Carl-Halle and Systems Administrator Don Voita received the Citation of Excellence Award from the UCSB Staff Assembly. The purpose of this award is to acknowledge and celebrate outstanding achievements and meritorious service of the career staff. With these two new awards CS staff will have three Citation of Excellence Awards in the last three years. Graduate Program Assistant Amanda Hoagland received the Citation of Excellence Award in 2006.

February 5, 2008

Two young faculty members, Wim van Dam and Tobias Hollerer, both received the 2007 National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) award. CAREER awards, given to future academic leaders, are the foundation’s most prestigious grants for young teacher-scholars. The awards each provide support for research in the amount of half a million dollars over a five-year period.