News Archive

April 8, 2010
Santa Barbara Summit on Energy Efficiency Presented by the Institute for Energy Efficiency (IEE) at the University of California, Santa Barbara May 12-13, 2010 Four Seasons Biltmore Hotel, Santa Barbara, CA Website: Contact: Whitney Wegener (805) 893-5496 The Santa Barbara Summit on Energy Efficiency will bring together global leaders and stakeholders in energy efficiency technology,
April 1, 2010

The Computer Science Department at UCSB includes a leading group of researchers in the area of “cloud computing.” Cloud computing has received significant attention lately because of its potential to revolutionize the way that the Internet works. With cloud computing, the Internet becomes the super highway that connects users to vast compute, storage, and networking resources.

March 31, 2010

Professor John Gilbert has been named a Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). He was honored by SIAM “for contributions to the development and analysis of algorithms for sparse matrix problems.“ Prof. Gilbert’s research is in combinatorial and numerical algorithms, high-performance computing, mathematical software, numerical linear algebra, and scientific computation. He directs the Combinatorial Scientific Computing Lab at UCSB, and is a Professor of Computer Science and a member of the interdepartmental Program in Computational Science and Engineering.

March 30, 2010

Professors Richard Kemmerer and Giovanni Vigna, and associate professor Christopher Kruegel from UCSB received a Chamber of Commerce Business Star Award at Santa Barabara. This award is traditionally presented to an individual who has made a significant innovative contribution to positively impacting our world. Past winners include university chancellors, Nobel laureates, architects, researchers and inventors. This quarter’s Innovation award is presented to Professors Richard Kemmerer and Giovanni Vigna, and associate professor Christopher Kruegel from UCSB.

March 29, 2010

The computer security group at the University of California, Santa Barbara
has been actively working on improving the safety and security of the
Internet. Two of their research projects have made recent news headlines.

March 29, 2010

Title: Prof. Wim van Dam chairs TQC 2010

Prof. Wim van Dam is serving as Program Chair for the Fifth Conference on
the Theory of Quantum Computation, Communication and Cryptography, which
will be held on April 13th – 15th, 2010 at the University of Leeds,
UK. Predicted attendance for this conference is around 100.

March 29, 2010

Online social media has brought the digitization of our lives to new heights in just a few short years with the explosion of tools like Facebook and the adoption of Internet-ready smart-phones. But all of this information sharing comes at a price: privacy. Prof. Ben Zhao joined hosts Levi Maaia and Tim Grigsby on UC Santa Barbara’s morning radio show on KCSB 91.9FM to discuss privacy issues in the world of web 2.0, and some of his recent projects that showcase the positive and negative sides of online social networks.

March 29, 2010

Dr. Cheng-Wen Wu, a UCSB alumni, was recently appointed Director of Institute of Information and Communication Research of the Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI), Taiwan. ITRI is the largest government-sponsored research institute in Taiwan, with over 6,000 employees engaging in R&D in six diverse areas: Communication and Optoelectronics, Precision Machinery and MEMS, Materials and Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Technology, Sustainable Development, and Nanotechnology.

March 24, 2010

Prof. Xifeng Yan received the 2009 National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) award. CAREER awards, given to future academic leaders, are NSF’s most prestigious grants for young scholars. The award provides support for research in the amount of 495K dollars over a five-year period. Prof. Yan becomes the 18th NSF CAREER Award winner in our department.

February 16, 2010

Google Research Award: Automated Verification of the Native Client