News Archive

October 3, 2012

The New York Times ran an article on September 16th on the state of smartphones and applications such as augmented reality (AR), quoting Prof. Tobias Höllerer.

September 29, 2012

The annual Computer Science Graduate Student Workshop in Computing (GSWC) will be held on Friday, October 5th in the Corwin Pavillion on the UCSB campus, from 8:00am to 3:10pm. The focus of GSWC is to highlight graduate student research, promote the exchange of ideas among students, faculty, researchers, and industry, and familiarize new graduate students with the research conducted within our department and the larger computer science community. The workshop is held and organized entirely by UCSB CS graduate students.

September 28, 2012

The Department of Computer Science is pleased to announce the recent promotion of faculty members, effective July 1, 2012:

To Full Professor:

Frederic Gibou
Tobias Höllerer
Tim Sherwood

To Associate Professor with Tenure:

Xifeng Yan

To Lecturer with Security of Employment:

Phill Conrad

September 27, 2012

Prof. Tevfik Bultan is the Program Committee Co-Chair of ACM SIGSOFT 2012, the 20th International Symposium on Foundations of Software Engineering (FSE). This is the flagship conference of ACM SIGSOFT and is one of the top two research conferences in the area of software engineering. The meeting will be held in Cary, North Carolina during November 11-16, 2012.

September 9, 2012

Mohit Tiwari, a 2011 Ph.D. graduate researching architectures for securing high assurance systems with Professor Tim Sherwood, will join Univ. of Texas at Austin ECE as an assistant professor in summer 2013. Currently, he is a post-doc in the EECS department at UC Berkeley, working with Professors Krste Asanovic and Dawn Song.

August 21, 2012


Monday, August 27, 2012
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Room 1132 Harold Frank Hall

HOST: Elizabeth Belding

SPEAKER: Nigel Davies
Professor, Lancaster University

Title: A Communications Medium for the 21st Century : Towards Open
Public Display Networks

June 29, 2012

The National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) has announced the inaugural recipients of the annual Undergraduate Research Mentoring Awards. These awards are given to faculty from across the USA who, through their efforts with undergraduate students, have encouraged and advanced students who have conducted research under the guidance of the awardees. Dr. Diana Franklin is one of the four recipients for 2012.

June 13, 2012

Team NOCK with CS 189 instructors Profs. Krintz and Sherwood

June 4, 2012

Outstanding Dissertation Award (2 winners this year because both dissertations were truly outstanding!):
Sudipto Das: Scalable and Elastic Transactional Data Stores for Cloud Computing Platforms
Christo Wilson: Battling Spam and Sybils on the Social Web

Outstanding Publication Award:
Xia Zhou and Zengbin Zheng: Mirror Mirror on the Ceiling: Flexible Wireless Links for Data Centers

May 25, 2012

Professors Elizabeth Belding (Computer Science) and Lisa Parks (Film and Media Studies) have launched a large research project to bring Internet connectivity to Macha, Zambia, an African village of 130,000 residents. Read about it in the UC Santa Barbara TODAY magazine.