News Archive

October 10, 2011

Prof. Christopher Kruegel receives 2011 IBM Faculty Award

The IBM Faculty Awards is a competitive worldwide program intended to:
*Foster collaboration between researchers at leading universities worldwide and those in IBM research, development and services organizations; and
*Promote courseware and curriculum innovation to stimulate growth in disciplines and geographies that are strategic to IBM.

October 5, 2011

The annual Graduate Student Workshop on Computing (GSWC11) will be
held on Friday, Oct 7, from 8 to 3 in ESB 1001. The workshop features short
talks and posters on our students’ research, along with keynote lectures and
panel discussions, featuring some of our own past graduates.

Details can be found at:

September 19, 2011

The AlloSphere Offers an Interactive Experience of Nano-sized Worlds
September 6, 2011

What would it be like to dive into the veins and arteries of the human body or weave through the layers of the brain? With the AlloSphere, a 33-foot diameter sphere built inside of a three-story echo-free cube, these feats are now possible.

August 24, 2011

Marc Andreessen, co-founder of Netscape, one of the first browser companies, on Why Software Is Eating the World.

WSJ Report

July 30, 2011

Professor Gonzalez New Editorships Appointments

Professor Gonzalez has been appointed Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Computers. IEEETC is celebrating its 60th Anniversary. Professor Gonzalez has also been appointed to the Editorial Boards of the International Journal of Advanced Networking and Applications (IJANA), the International Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing and Networks (ACTA Press), and the International Journal of Communications and Computer Security (ACTA Press).

July 29, 2011

White Knight Cyber Hackers

UC Santa Barbara computer lab trains the next generation of cyber-security warriors. The Computer Science Security Group led by Prof. Richard Kemmerer, Prof. Giovanni Vigna and Prof. Christopher Kruegel, was recently interviewed by Casey Wian at CNN.

July 22, 2011

Congratulations to Sudipto, Pegah, and Mohit on receiving our department outstanding graduate student, publication, dissertation awards.
Sudipto Das–Outstanding Graduate Student
Pegah Kamousi–Outstanding Publication
Mohit Tiwari–Outstanding Dissertation

June 7, 2011

WhichAisle, a mobile app that helps with grocery store shopping, won the“Best Capstone Project in Computer Science” at the CS 189A/B, ECE 189A/B, and ECE 188A/B Senior Project Presentation Day.

WhichAisle Team members Matt Decoteau, Steve Gala, Jacob Goren, and Conor Pawley took home the $1100 award funded by the Hass endowment and the Computer Science Chair’s Prize for their project at the June 2nd event.

May 13, 2011

Congratulations Luca Foschini, Pegah Kamousi, and Shiyuan Wang on receiving three coveted Central Continuing Student Fellowship! Luca received the Dean’s Fellowship, while both Pegah and Shiyuan received Graduate Division Dissertation Fellowships. These are very competitive campus wide awards.