News Archive

February 26, 2013

Congratulations to Prof. Linda Petzold, who has been selected to receive the 2013 SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering. The award will be announced on February 26 at the SIAM Conference on Computational Science and Engineering (CSE13) in Boston, MA, and awarded during the SIAM Annual Meeting in July, held in San Diego, CA.

February 5, 2013

Prof. Ted Kim (MAT and CS) has received a five-year $508,658 grant from the National Science Foundation for research on “Enabling Efficient Non-Linearities in Biomechanical Simulations.” This comes from the NSF’s Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program. The abstract of the award can be found here.

February 5, 2013

Congratulations to the following recent PhD graduates in the Department of Computer Science:

Chris Bunch
Dissertation: Automated Configuration and Deployment of Applications in Heterogeneous Cloud Environments
Chris worked under the advisement of Prof. Chandra Krintz as part of the Lab for Research on Adaptive Computing Environments (RACELab).

January 30, 2013

COMPUTER ENGINEERING and Electrical & Computer Engineering presents:

Friday, February 1, 2013
10:00 – 11:00AM
ROOM CHANGE: Harold Frank Hall (HFH), Rm 1132 – CS Conference Room

SPEAKER: Christoph Studer, Rice University

TITLE: “Wideband Analog-to-Information Conversion: From Theory to VLSI Circuits”

January 29, 2013

Each year a committee of industry experts and faculty chooses 10 papers
from the top computer architecture conferences to highlight in the
annual “Top Picks” issue of IEEE Micro. This year UCSB
Computer Engineering student Jonathan Valamehr, Computer Science
and Engineering Professor Tim Sherwood, and thier collaborators from
Microsoft, had their work “Inspection Resistant Memory Architectures”
selected for this prestigious publication.

January 10, 2013

Ted Kim, a professor of Media Arts and Technology with a joint appointment in Computer Science, has been awarded an Academy Award in Technical Achievement by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The award will be presented to Prof. Kim and his colleagues on February 9 for their invention of the simulation method known as wavelet turbulence and for the resulting contribution to filmmaking. Congratulations, Ted!

January 9, 2013

Congratulations to Professor Matthew Turk, who has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his distinguished contributions to computer vision and perceptual interfaces. For more information about this prestigious award, see this announcement.

December 30, 2012

Professor Ben Zhao delivered a keynote talk on December 1, 2012 at the IEEE International Performance Computing and Communications Conference in Austin, TX. His talk was entitled “A Double-edged Sword: Implications of Crowdsourcing for the Future of Web Security.”

December 12, 2012

Prof. Gustavo Alonso from ETH Zurich, who received his MS and PhD in Computer Science at UCSB in 1992 and 1994, has recently been named an ACM Fellow for his contributions to distributed systems, middleware, and data management. The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM.


December 11, 2012

UCSB Researchers Take Next-Generation Augmented Reality Apps ‘Anywhere’

UC Santa Barbara computer scientists are changing the face of augmented reality by modeling user experience and adding dynamic crowdsourced data


Augmented reality applications for mobile devices could become smarter and more sophisticated, thanks to two recent grants awarded to UC Santa Barbara computer science professors Matthew Turk and Tobias Höllerer. (Click for full article.)