Kruegel and Yan Appointed to the Aas and Venky Endowed Chairs

October 11, 2009

Prof. Christopher Kruegel and Prof. Xifeng Yan are the first scholars appointed to
the Eugene Aas Endowed Chair and the Venkatesh Narayanamurti Endowed Chair
in Computer Science. A special inaugural celebration will be held October
22, 2009. Details are available on our Endowed Chairs webpage.

Christopher Kruegel received his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from the Technical University in
Vienna, Austria in 2000 and 2002, respectively. From 2002 to 2004,
Christopher Kruegel was a postdoctoral researcher at UC Santa Barbara. After
that, he joined the faculty of TU Vienna, where he was promoted to associate
professor (Habilitation) in 2006. In 2008 he joined the Computer Science
Department at UCSB as an assistant professor and was promoted in July 2009
to associate professor with tenure. He received the prestigious NSF Career
award in July 2009. His research interest is computer and communication
security, with an emphasis on malicious code analysis, web security, and
intrusion detection.

Xifeng Yan joined the Computer Science Department at UC
Santa Barbara in 2009 as an assistant professor. He was a Research Staff
Member at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center between 2006 and 2008. He
received a B.E. in computer science from Zhejiang University, China in 1997
and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign in 2006. His research interests include data mining,
databases, and machine learning, with emphasis on modeling, managing, and
mining large-scale graphs and networks in bioinformatics, social networks,
the Web, and computer systems.