News Archive

October 3, 2013

The department’s annual Graduate Student Workshop on Computing (GSWC 2013) will be held on Friday, October 4th in Corwin Pavilion. This is an important and exciting event in the life of the department, and all students, faculty, and visitors are invited to attend. The workshop is free and open to all.

The workshop will include talks and posters by UCSB graduate students, an industry panel, and a keynote talk by Mike Brzozowski of Google on “Beyond Big Data: Understanding Users at Scale.”

October 2, 2013

Is the world’s first commercial quantum computer the real deal or not? An October article in Wired Science sought Prof. Wim van Dam’s opinions on a new quantum computer by D-Wave Systems.

Read the article here.

September 26, 2013


10:30 AM – 11:00 AM Reception
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Talk
Engineering Sciences Building, Room 1001

HOST: Subhash Suri

SPEAKER: Daphne Koller
Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University; Co-Founder and co-CEO, Coursera


The Online Revolution: Learning without Limits


September 26, 2013


Wednesday, October 30, 2013
3:30 – 4:30 PM
Room 1132 Harold Frank Hall

HOST: Amr El Abbadi

SPEAKER: David Lomet
Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research


LLAMA: A Cache/Storage Subsystem for Modern Hardware (joint work with Justin Levandoski and Sudipta Sengupta)


September 25, 2013

PhD student Byungkyu Kang, Research Scientists John O’Donovan, and Professor Tobias Hollerer received a Best Paper Award at the 2013 ASE/IEEE International Conference on Social Computing (SocialCom 2013) for their paper entitled “Understanding Information Credibility on Twitter” (PDF).

September 24, 2013

A Popular Science article reports on UCSB’s Security Lab:
Schools across the country are offering courses where students learn how to stop malicious hackers. Step one: learn their ways.

September 19, 2013

Prof. Diana Franklin has been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering’s fifth Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium, to be held October 27-30 in Irvine, California.

September 19, 2013

Prof. Diana Franklin received an Undergraduate Research Mentoring award from the National Center for Women and Information Technology. The annual NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award recognizes American Academic Alliance representatives for their outstanding mentorship, high-quality research opportunities, recruitment of women and minority students, and efforts to encourage and advance undergraduates in computing-related fields.

September 19, 2013

UCSB has been ranked as the U.S. university with the third highest earning potential for Computer Science majors, according to a new report from PayScale. According to their data, the median mid-career pay for a CS major from UCSB is $120,000.

For more information, follow this link.

September 11, 2013

According to a new study on the economic value of college majors, computer science is one of the top few majors in terms of highest median earnings. See a short article here and the published study here.